Loc Journal Entry Late October Edition

Okay…first and foremost…I suck! LOL! My last loc entry was mid May edition…I’m terrible!  Crazy enough, I didn’t feel I really had enough info to even create a new entry…only to start Late October’s Loc Entry and have a CRAP load of pictures to load…b/c OF COURSE I continued to take pictures! LOL! My pictures are mostly on my retwist days and days I’ve felt cute! 😉

So since my last entry, I’ll try to post pictures corresponding with the time frame. Bare with me! LOL! In June (month 3), I had finally reached the phase where my length was enough to play with!!!

20131025-082738.jpg  20131025-082501.jpg 20131025-082432.jpg 20131025-082358.jpg

Before I loc’d, one of the things I loved most was the versatility of my natural hair. Anything I COULD do with it, I DID! I’ve always loved the ability to change things up. So one of the most difficult things about loc’ing at such a short length was the fact that I could do absolutely NOTHING with my hair! In June, only the last row of the back of my head had loc’d…and not fully! I was still able to enjoy the coils look though…and was ultimately very pleased! 🙂

In doing research about time frames in which hair starts to loc, I found the salty water from the ocean was encouraged when it comes to speeding up the process. So in July (month 4), when I saw the opportunity to go to the beach, I dove right in!!! Crazy enough, before going to the beach, I’d stayed up most of the night retwisting my hair b/c our beach trip was on the way to our family reunion…and I wanted my hair to look its best…completely throwing out the fact that I’d planned on getting my hair wet! SMH! Did I see any immediate changes? I thought I did. The salty water is supposed to dry out your hair thus assisting in the loc’ing process. I definitely saw a little more frizz vs coils my next retwist…but did it finally loc? No. I think the most memorable part of month 4 was the fact that I’d seen significant length! My hair moved when wind blew through it! LOL!

beach hairO20131025-082133.jpg

In August, (month 5) I’d hoped to be fully loc’d by then. This was obviously not the case. But I definitely saw more locs than just my last row in the back of my head! LOL! I’d probably say I was about 50%. I noticed my hair had started to loc in the middle of the coils…so my ends and my roots are still mostly coiled. But you could definitely tell that I was not just rocking coils, on occasions right before retwists, my hair looked more like locs.

20131025-082125.jpg

By month 6, September (the month everyone says their hair finally locs!!!), I was about 80%! :-/ The pros to my grade of hair is, it’s very coily (for the most part). The cons to my hair is, it’s really soft which makes the loc’ing process EXTREMELY slow!!! My impatience comes in when I want to color my hair and I can’t b/c professional color slightly changes the texture of your hair. Color would loosen my curls tremendously…so I can’t afford to color my hair without regressing in the loc’ing process! (*pouts*) The greatest thing about this particular month was the fact that I was able to do even more styles with my hair without worrying about it unraveling!!! Below you can see I tried bantu knots…and I absolutely LOVED the results!!! My knot out lasted a full week and got better as the days progressed!!! I loved the knots so much, one of these days I may even wear it as a style…:D

20131025-082108.jpg20131025-082117.jpg

20131025-082158.jpg 20131025-082220.jpg

Currently, in late October, I’ve gotten a couple of styles under my belt! My hair is now about 88% loc’d…(I still have two in the middle of my head that is a totally different grade from the rest and REFUSE to loc…I have to retwist them as coils during every retwist). I’ve noticed how much length I have before my retwists (that is when I experience my most noticeable shrinkage). Because of my new length, I’m able to go longer and longer between retwists…the only thing that gets me is my dandruff. (The struggle is REAL) I’ve seriously got to find a product that eliminates dandruff b/c it’s getting down right disrespectful! LOL! Below you can see the most recent pictures I’ve taken compared to the first pictures I’ve taken since starting my loc’ing journey! Overall, I’m very pleased! By January, I’ll definitely have a new funky color (I’m struggling between Rihanna red or a really cool, funky blue and black…either way…it’s going to be DANGEROUS) 😉 Stay tuned…

*~Dimpled Sunshine~*

20131025-082245.jpg 20131025-082058.jpg

About Dimpled Sunshine

I'm a wife of a pharaoh and a mother of royalty! I love hard, dance freely and laugh often!
This entry was posted in My Loc'ing Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment