February Edition

First and foremost…HAPPY 2014!!! 2013 was a very bountiful year for my household all the way around and I am looking forward to seeing the blessings 2014 has in store for us!  I am currently approaching my 1 year mark with my locs and words cannot express how excited I am for that!!! In the beginning as you all know, my locs and I had a love/hate relationship! LOL! But I’ve finally hit the point where we have an understanding!

photo 1photo 3 

photo 4 photo 5 (1)

So after posting my October entry, I’ve noticed that my days of having bangs, were slowly coming to an end. My hair is past my eyes when I do retwists! I’m able to see the length with each retwist but for the time being, can still enjoy bangs due to my shrinkage! (Shrinkage is a wonderful thing! LOL). I’ve also been able to go past 7 weeks before I absolutely need to retwist my hair. I’ve also learned that in drinking plenty of water, I am able to reduce the amount of dandruff in my scalp! #winning

photo 4 (1) photo 1 (4) photo 2 (1) photo 1 (1)

In the pictures below, you can see my hair after about 6 weeks after retwisting. Experience has taught me that my hair is the best right before it is time to shampoo and retwist! Over the past few months, I’ve been able to try a ton of different styles to help express how I’m feeling for that day. It’s hard to put into words just how important that is to me!

photo 1 (2)photo 2 (4)photo 2 (2)   photo 4 (4) 

Around November/December, I’ve seen the most growth. In my last post, I gave pictures of my successful bantu knot-out and was able to show you guys how defined my curls. 10 weeks later, I shampoo’d my hair and decided to do another bantu knot-out and the difference from the first successful attempt was amazing!!!

photo 2 (3)photo 1 (3)  photo 1 (6)

After posting this picture on facebook, I had quite a few people ask me about the products I put in my hair. I use Red Pimento Oil from Tropical Roots. It makes my scalp feel great…it tingles while it moisturizes. I also love Mango & Lime products, especially their Black Caster Oil. This IMO is a must if you’d like your hair to grow. I put about a nickle size in the palm of my hand, then rub my hands through my hair. If you use too much, it may make your hair oily and heavy. And finally, I made my own flax seed hair gel!!! My only issue with it is the fact that it’s pretty flaky in my hair, which makes my locs look dirty or “ashy” looking. I was told if I put olive oil in my gel, it would help…and it definitely helped a little. Hopefully I can master it b/c in creating my own hair gel, not only is that a huge money saver but I think it’s healthier for your hair. There are no chemicals in it, no color and no odor.

photo 1 (7) photo 2 (7)

 

Finally, I retwisted my hair two days ago using my homeade flax seed gel after moisturizing my hair with Black Caster Oil and instead of using clips like I used to, I put my hair in bantu knots as soon as I retwisted a cluster of locs. I generally go through the process of detangling and retwisting, clipping, drying THEN styling my locs. The overall process took well over 4 hours! But in putting my locs in bantu knots as soon as I had a cluster of retwisted locs, it saved me so much time and back aches!!! My overall process took about 2 1/2 hours!!! So I’ve found how I’ll be doing my hair from now on! 🙂 Below are pictures I’ve taken, styles I’ve tried over the past few months. I can’t adequately express how excited I am to now be able to try so many different styles!

 

Until next time…

*~Dimpled Sunshine~*

photo 3 (5) photo 3 (6) photo 4 (3) photo 4 (5) photo 5 (2) photo 5 (3) photo 5 (4) photo 1 (5)   photo 2 (5)photo 2 (6) photo 2photo 3 (1)photo 3 (3)photo 3 (4)

About Dimpled Sunshine

I'm a wife of a pharaoh and a mother of royalty! I love hard, dance freely and laugh often!
This entry was posted in My Loc'ing Journey, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment